i am ninoy

When Ninoy Aquino died in (when was that again?), I remember I was at my grandparents’ house.  I was 12? 13? years old and didn’t know any other president except Marcos.

I sat at their table writing to my then penpal from the US when a newsflash about a guy who got shot at the airport.  I recall my parents’ and grandparents’ reactions were of total shock.  I suppose sort of like the reactions the Americans had when the planes hit the World Trade Center in 2001.

Anyway, since I’m not much of a political person, I don’t know much of the story of Ninoy (aside from well known facts like he was the dad of Kris, husband of Tita Cory, and well, from the same fraternity as Marcos).  Well, at least not until history class (again, it’s not much of my favorite subject so I didn’t listen much).

Fast forward to today.

A few weeks ago, a friend of mine sent me a link to a website called www.iamninoy.com.  And still, I don’t know Ninoy that much.  It’s not like it’s such a big deal to me that “he died for our country” (it doesn’t affect me much, not the fact that Jose Rizal did…sorry, again, I’m not a history buff), but what really struck me about that campaign is their tagline– “there is a hero in all of us”.

While I haven’t decided if Ninoy is or is not a hero, I do believe in the campaign.  Someone  once told me that if we all do our little good things in our little way, we will help our country little by little.

This is why I advocate Attachment Parenting.  This is why I tear up when I talk about wanting my country to be great again.  This is why I believe it starts at home.  This is why I am so glad to see more parents who are able to participate more in the “raising the kids” process than just letting one parent do it.

And if only for this campaign, even though I don’t really (Tito) Ninoy Aquino, I am ninoy.  We all have our heroes in our daily lives to thank for making our world a better place to live in.  Let them inspire you to be a hero too.

I am a Hero.

I do what I believe is Right.

I do what I believe is Good.

I fight for Justice.

I fight for Freedom.

About jencc

a constant work-in-progress View all posts by jencc

3 responses to “i am ninoy

  • Martin Gomez

    Hi. When you talk about our country being great again, what might you mean? 🙂 My generation and the later generation, I believe, didn’t have a taste of it – or, if we did, were too young to remember. Thank you.

  • jencc

    Hi Martin! Thanks for stopping by (when I thought no one comes here anymore. lol!)

    I don’t know if I’ve actually ever had a taste of it, but to my mind, I’d say a lot less corruption because the public school teachers, the policemen, the firemen, and government people will be paid a lot better.

    I’ve had discussions about this with peers, and I keep telling them that I’m a generally apathetic person, so for me, I’m just going to keep on doing my advocacy work, and hope that everyone else will too…so one day things will work out well, and “we will be great again”.

  • Martin Gomez

    Thanks for sharing. 🙂 The following comes to mind whenever the Philippines is referred to as a/the great country in Asia / the world.

    I’ve made it a personal mission to promote the Philippines and Manila as a great nation and city. Perhaps having a taste of discrimination first-hand has made me even prouder of my heritage, nationality and citizenship.

    http://pmgomez.blogspot.com/2006/08/on-discrimination.html

    I almost punched an Italian on the face when he said that in Italy, “Filipino” meant “maid,” and asked me to do his laundry — take note, I was a management consultant at the time.

Leave a Reply

