Postscript from my Divi Trip

I partly wish I could have brought the camera (but really couldn’t because S took it on his trip!). I know I could take interesting photos there. (Just the sludge on the street of our regular haunt will be a good photo! Hahaha!)

My visit to Divisoria was, to say the very least, empowering. I suddenly feel I could conquer more. (Gee, now I realize where P gets his self-esteem issues…hahahahahaha!)

And I had several realizations during that trip (eye-opener!):

  1. I realize that I am not the shopping type, really. When I need to go to the mall, there should be some kind of goal (i.e., to buy something that is needed) rather than walk aimlessly and “window” shop (and end up getting stuff that I don’t really need).
  2. I work best alone (this assumes that the goal is clear).
  3. I don’t panic much when doing things by myself.
  4. I think I’m SuperWoman (this is *not* good all the time! Actually, except when I’m dealing with government people—then I think they’re super people…*ugh*).
  5. I like exploring pala.

My last post actually generated a whole lot of comments (my mother hasn’t talked to me about it yet *heehee*), and I’m actually glad that I had a chance to do this…thanks to S and his dad since they needed the car and the driver.

Till next “amazing” adventure!

About jencc

a constant work-in-progress View all posts by jencc

2 responses to “Postscript from my Divi Trip

  • Lauren

    Your trip to Divi may be empowering and may make you feel like Superwoman, but for the majority of the Third World population in the Philippines, this is how we live – by commuting – and yes, by sweating and consequently smelling bad everyday, not because we choose to, but because we have no choice. And when we are tired at the end of the day in the urban armpits of Manila, we still have to take the jeep, bus, or LRT/MRT – cab fare is too expensive.

    You enjoyed your trip solo, sauntering and having the time to explore. Imagine having to bring along your kids at the dead of night to a hospital emergency room, taking the jeep or LRT because there is no other way. imagine having to stand through long train rides pregnant, night and day.

    For you, it was an enjoyable, empowering experience, that makes your mom “scared to death” … well, the less privileged half of Manila has no choice but to be scared to death everyday. This is how we get around. This is reality for us, not a field trip.

    I apologize if my comments are too harsh. I am a mom too, like you, and I have two sons as well – one is 4 and the other is 2. I bring them to school, to the mall, to the doctor, to the market – using public transportation. They breathe in fumes, sweat under the heat, and walk on the sludge of the streets. I understand that this is your perspective of the world and you have no other way to define your experiences. What may be empowering for you may not be empowering for the rest of us. Perhaps the most empowering thing you can do for yourself is to be grateful for your blessings and for having the luxury of choosing how to get around the city, and for the material resources at your disposal.

    If I sound envious, yes, I am envious – envious and resentful. If my family’s financial situation does not change, my boys will grow up learning to commute – and as a mother, I, too, will fear for their safety each day, praying for their security. I, too, will be “scared to death.” However, it will not be something I can lightheartedly post on my child’s blog; it will be a sense of anxiety I will have to carry each time my children go out.

    Yes, you can “do greater things in life” pala. But your once-in-a-while jaunt is a universe apart from our everyday reality. If your experience makes you feel like Superwoman, I guess my own experiences should make me feel a hundred times more powerful. Maybe they do, sometimes. But most of the time, poverty is just something I have to swallow and fight against.

    You have a lot to be grateful for.

  • jencc

    hi lauren, thanks for visiting my blog and sharing your thoughts. i am truly grateful for what i have. as a parent, like you, i strive to continue to work hard to be able to give my children the best i can. with your outlook, i’m sure that you’ll be able to do well. =)

Leave a Reply

