Listening to Songs…

…stir up some strange memories.

Tuwing Umuulan at Kapiling Ka

Pagmasdan ang ulan,
Unti-unting pumapatak sa mga halama’t mga bulaklak
Pagmasdan ang dilim,
Unti-unting bumabalot sa buong paligid t’wing umuulanKasabay ng ulan bumubuhos ang ‘yong ganda,
Kasabay rin ng hanging kumakanta

Maari bang huwag ka na
Sa piling ko’y lumisan pa hanggang ang hangi’t ula’y tumila na

Buhos na ulan, aking mundo’y lunuring tuluyan
Tulad ng pag-agos mo,
‘Di mapipigil ang puso kong nagliliyab
Pag-ibig ko’y umaapaw,
Damdamin ko’y humihiyaw sa tuwa
Tuwing umuulan at kapiling ka

Pagmasdan ang ulan,
Unti-unting tumitila
Ikaw ri’y magpapaalam na
Maari bang minsan pa, mahagkan ka’t maiduyan pa
Sakbibi ka’t ulan lamang ang saksi

Minsan pa ulan bumuhos ka’t h’wag nang tumigil pa
Hatid mo ma’y bagyo, dalangin ito ng puso kong sumasamo
Pag-ibig ko’y umaapaw,
Damdamin ko’y humihiyaw sa tuwa
Tuwing umuulan at kapiling ka
(Oooohhh)

Maari bang minsan pa, mahagkan ka’t maiduyan pa
Sakbibi ka’t ulan lamang ang saksi

Buhos na ulan, aking mundo’y lunuring tuluyan
Tulad ng pag-agos mo,
‘Di mapipigil ang puso kong nagliliyab
Pag-ibig ko’y umaapaw,
Damdamin ko’y humihiyaw sa tuwa
Tuwing umuulan at kapiling ka

Minsan pa ulan bumuhos ka’t h’wag nang tumigil pa
Hatid mo ma’y bagyo, dalangin ito ng puso kong sumasamo
Pag-ibig ko’y umaapaw,
Damdamin ko’y humihiyaw sa tuwa
Tuwing umuulan at kapiling ka

He’s not handsome or anything, but I swear, I have always had a (secret) thing for Ely Buendia. Hahahahaha! Loved him since the Eraserheads!

Was just listening to Tuwing Umuulan at Kasama Ka (a remake they did of a Basil Valdez song) and remembered the one and only time we went to watch them perform at UP’s Sunken Garden one cool -ber night.

We caught the Cutterpillow concert with a friend of S’s from Law School. It was one of the most fun concerts we’ve ever attended!!

Blasphemous Rumors (Depeche Mode)

Girl of sixteen, whole life ahead of her
Slashed her wrists, bored with life
Didn’t succeed, thank the Lord
For small merciesFighting back the tears, mother reads the note again
Sixteen candles burn in her mind
She takes the blame, it’s always the same
She goes down on her knees and prays

I don’t want to start any blasphemous rumours
But I think that God’s got a sick sense of humor
And when I die I expect to find Him laughing

Girl of eighteen, fell in love with everything
Found new life in Jesus Christ
Hit by a car, ended up
On a life support machine

Summer’s day, as she passed away
Birds were singing in the summer sky
Then came the rain, and once again
A tear fell from her mother’s eye

I don’t want to start any blasphemous rumours
But I think that God’s got a sick sense of humor
And when I die I expect to find Him laughing

Ssss….

Oooh, what angst!!! This is so reflective of the 80s.

When we were in grade school, a friend had moved to another country and was terribly lonely there. When she began writing us letters with these lyrics, my other friend and I (who were left here) would panic. That was so many years back. It’s a whole different picture now. =)

Here’s a song that I heard in the past few years, which I really really like:

Affirmation (Savage Garden)

I believe the sun should never set upon an argument
I believe we place our happiness in other people’s hands
I believe that junk food tastes so good because it’s bad for you
I believe your parents did the best job they knew how to do
I believe that beauty magazines promote low self esteem
I believe I’m loved when I’m completely by myself alone

I believe in Karma what you give is what you get returned
I believe you can’t appreciate real love ’til you’ve been burned
I believe the grass is no more greener on the other side
I believe you don’t know what you’ve got until you say goodbye

I believe you can’t control or choose your sexuality
I believe that trust is more important than monogamy
I believe your most attractive features are your heart and soul
I believe that family is worth more than money or gold
I believe the struggle for financial freedom is unfair
I believe the only ones who disagree are millionaires

I believe in Karma what you give is what you get returned
I believe you can’t appreciate real love ’til you’ve been burned
I believe the grass is no more greener on the other side
I believe you don’t know what you’ve got until you say goodbye

I believe forgiveness is the key to your unhappiness
I believe that wedded bliss negates the need to be undressed
I believe that God does not endorse TV evangelists
I believe in love surviving death into eternity

I believe in Karma what you give is what you get returned
I believe you can’t appreciate real love ’til you’ve been burned
I believe the grass is no more greener on the other side
I believe you don’t know what you’ve got until you say goodbye

Read it slowly. The thoughts you could pick up are quite interesting!

About jencc

a constant work-in-progress View all posts by jencc

Leave a Reply

