Quiet Time

It’s a Monday, and on Mondays, the car I usually take is banned. (In Manila, because of the congested roads, the MMDA has cooked up this scheme of banning cars with plate numbers ending in 1 and 2 on Mondays, 3 and 4 on Tuesdays, and so on, at certain times of the day. All cars are free to traverse Metro Manila roads on weekends.)

So I had to take S’s car today. And S’s car’s stereo kinda conked out last Saturday. It needs to be reset, which I didn’t know how to do.

So I drove to work without music. Nothing. Nada. Silence.

You know how they say silence is golden? Gee, it really is! I was able to use the time to think about things I don’t regularly think about! I realize it was a great time for me to assess and prepare for the day ahead.

I realized then how “noisy” my days are! Since I stopped doing yoga, I haven’t had a chance for real “quiet” time. I’m either working, with the boys (and that entails a lot of “noise”, e.g., “K, please get down from the table”, “P, no, you canNOT eat that”, “S, please clean up as you go!”), blogging (as now!), meeting, reading, whatever.

I should really do yoga again, right? Or just get some quiet time on my own. It’s important.

About jencc

a constant work-in-progress View all posts by jencc

Leave a Reply

