Pinoy Boys = Pampered Boys

Someone mentioned to me over lunch that his boss, X, was kawawa (pitiful) because X’s secretary was away.

I told that someone that X will do just fine, as he’s a “big boy” already.

It suddenly occurred to me how much we pamper our boys. I can’t imagine S living alone. He’ll positively die…not because of natural causes, but maybe because his house will grow to be a dump (I can’t imagine him cleaning). Well, he’ll probably spend so much money on disposable items. (NOW I know why he has never taken up his dad’s offer for him to study abroad…and I thought it was because he couldn’t leave me and the kids! Ha!)

Why do we pamper our men?

Well, they like to be pampered…they feel loved and taken cared of. (And it’ll be easier for us to get our way if we give them their way first. Hahaha!)

Is it because we come from a patriarchial society? Most probably. Women used to be treated like second class citizens—in fact, sometimes, we still are.

And, perhaps, because of this, it’s our way of “taking care” of our men.

Sometimes, I have to stop and remind myself to stop doing things for P and K so that they’ll be self-sufficient. I realize now that K is more independent than P. Well, you know how it is, K being the second child and all…less attention is given (guilty as charged! But you should see how independent he is! He can climb tables so quickly!).

Well…we love our men enough to pamper them and they love us because of it…so, sometimes, I think, why fix a good thing when it’s not broke? =) (But I promise to give the boys space for them to grow…for S, well, he’s an old dog and it’s difficult to teach old dogs new tricks, isn’t it?)

About jencc

a constant work-in-progress View all posts by jencc

5 responses to “Pinoy Boys = Pampered Boys

  • ruth

    “why fix a good thing when it’s not broke?”

    –> because you’ll never know what type of woman they’ll fall in love with, hehe. i think it wouldn’t hurt if pinoy boys are also taught a bit of housekeeping, for example. their future wives will appreciate it! 🙂

  • ruth

    “why fix a good thing when it’s not broke?”

    –> because you’ll never know what type of woman they’ll fall in love with, hehe. i think it wouldn’t hurt if pinoy boys are also taught a bit of housekeeping, for example. their future wives will appreciate it! :)–>

  • Aiza

    Yeah, buti nga my hubby is neater than I am hahaha.

  • Kim

    That’s funny actually … because just the other day, I was talking to my boyfriend, and he was like … “I love my girlfriend because she’s nice and funny and buys me food and video games, she makes me food and helps me clean my room, and do my homework when I don’t want to.” He was talking to his grandma who was like “Good b/c you need a maid!”

    I pamper him a lot, but he knows how to clean the dishes and make a nice little meal. So I get a bit of a break.

  • blogspot.Com

    Hello would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with? I’m planning to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a difficult time making a decision between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique.
    P.S Apologies for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

Leave a Reply

