Superman Returns

A little over a year ago, we watched Batman Begins. Now, another superhero comes back to the big screen…Superman!

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

The movie was good, had lots of entertainment value, not as dark as Batman—so I didn’t have that strange heavy feeling after watching it. It helped, of course that Brandon Routh was really good looking (not necessarily my type, but he was good looking nonetheless!).

And more than anything, I really like the “good triumphs over evil” general theme.

But what got to me was how Superman alluded to Jesus Christ. (S pointed it out…) It was strange hearing Jor-El (apparently played by Marlon Brando!) say, “Even though you’ve been raised as a human being you’re not one of them. They can be a great people, Kal-El, they wish to be. They only lack the light to show the way. For this reason above all, their capacity for good, I have sent them you… my only son.”

And when Superman tells Lois Lane, “You wrote that the world doesn�t need a savior, but every day I hear people crying for one.”

Freaky, I tell you.

But then, who can really say? I do view Jesus Christ as my saviour, and because of that He IS like Superman.

What do YOU think?

About jencc

a constant work-in-progress View all posts by jencc

Leave a Reply

