My Kuya!

S and I were at P’s school for the last day of his reading class. One of his teachers approached me to discuss how he performed. She said that P is their (in her words, not mine) “best reader“! Woohoo!!!

I guess somehow, deep inside, S and I knew that, as P would be reading a lot of advanced books (i.e., lots of words, albeit with pictures, but for a five year old…).

Thing is, she also mentioned that he’s quite oppositional. Situation: teacher asks him to read with them as a group. He refuses. But when he’s placed among other children, in order to read quietly—well, he reads aloud.

Also, he doesn’t like writing. Gotta practice…

Oh, but here’s something interesting. He likes writing stories. He likes making them up! Maybe we should get him into creative writing. What do you think?

About jencc

a constant work-in-progress View all posts by jencc

4 responses to “My Kuya!

  • California Dreamin' Mama

    Absolutely get your little man into creative writing!. That is the age that I started making up stories and writing. If he has it in his blood to do it now…encourage it. Our oldest turns 6 today. So, your son and my daughter are very close in age. Her graduation from her class in Tuesday. Cannot believe that summer is already here! I hope that things are going well for you. I haven’t talked to you in a while. I was in Russia and then have been adjusting to a new baby in the house and sick. So, I am catching up with everyone. Talk to you soon!.
    Caroline

  • California Dreamin' Mama

    Absolutely get your little man into creative writing!. That is the age that I started making up stories and writing. If he has it in his blood to do it now…encourage it. Our oldest turns 6 today. So, your son and my daughter are very close in age. Her graduation from her class in Tuesday. Cannot believe that summer is already here! I hope that things are going well for you. I haven’t talked to you in a while. I was in Russia and then have been adjusting to a new baby in the house and sick. So, I am catching up with everyone. Talk to you soon!.
    Caroline

  • Beautiful Grandma

    Good. Reading Dynamics gives special lessons on creative writing. You can enrol him this coming summer.

  • Beautiful Grandma

    Good. Reading Dynamics gives special lessons on creative writing. You can enrol him this coming summer.

Leave a Reply

