Guiness Book of World Records

It sounded a bit strange to me, yes. I mean, heck, I didn’t even know that a record such for “simultaneous breastfeeding”! Hahaha!

Well, now, the Philippines holds the record ( from Berkley, California, who had 1,135 moms vs our 3k plus moms)!

My friend, Buding D, who’s a breastfeeding counselor (those who need her help, please email me or leave a comment so I can give you her contacts), was one of the organizers. I couldn’t make it since Paul had school that day.

Congrats to Buds, plus the other guys who put this thing together! (Nona Castillo and Elvira Esguerra of Children for Breastfeeding and Nurturers of the Earth, Unicef, and DOH)

I hope this event generates more media mileage for breastfeeding. I understand, from them and several reports that I’ve read, is that breastfeeding rates in the Philippines are dismal. Thus, a lot of babies, especially those who are poor, die.

Formula companies have such a fancy way of luring the consumer to think that canned milk (can you believe that some people give their babies (diluted) condensed milk because they can’t afford infant formula??? How sad is that???) is better than mother’s milk (albeit the “breastfeeding is still best for babies up to 2 years” at the end of the commercial).

I can’t understand it…you absolutely cannot go wrong with mom’s milk. Check this out. It’s so easy traveling with a breastfed baby. For me, it was always sling the baby and go! Kevin is such an easy baby, I am thankful! (But his temper…ooooh…got that partly from the my side and partly from Stan’s….crossing my fingers that he’ll be more mild-tempered in the long run!)

About jencc

a constant work-in-progress View all posts by jencc

2 responses to “Guiness Book of World Records

  • jeneflower

    Breastfeeding was really hard for me at first (and hurt!), but by my third child I had it down cold- and it was easy! And very worth it!

  • Jen

    Breastfeeding was really hard for me at first (and hurt!), but by my third child I had it down cold- and it was easy! And very worth it!–>

Leave a Reply

