Working Mom

Okay, this week, I hardly spent time with the boys. Why? Because my part-time day job became so busy, it surpassed a full-time job!

There were some things that I urgently needed to attend to, thus, making me work long (looooong!) days. That said, I cannot begin to fathom how full-time working mothers survive. I now realize how difficult a position they’re in…and they truly amaze me.

If we had a choice, I’d be a SAHM (well, maybe a WAHM…and well, I’m working on it!). These are the most important years of my kids, and I want to be there for them. Maybe another 6 years or so (so Kevin will be 7 by that time). Then, I hope that Stan and I would have given our kids enough to be on remote control.

Going back to working mothers…it’s so difficult. Some days this week, I actually left before P and K got up—and didn’t even see P when I got home (boo hoo…he was upstairs with my FIL, and didn’t follow rules to come down at 9).

This was just a week’s experience. What about those moms who work full-time and don’t have helpers? What about those moms who work full-time and need to commute (e.g., working in Mandaluyong, living in Cavite!)? What about those moms who have found work in Manila but are from the province (e.g., helpers)? And most especially, what about moms who are OFWs (overseas foreign workers)?

*Sigh*. There’s got to be some way to encourage WAH. Small businesses. Really. I believe that at least one parent should stay with the children in their growing up years.

About jencc

a constant work-in-progress View all posts by jencc

2 responses to “Working Mom

  • jeneflower

    I am sorry you have been so busy. This is a hot topic. I totally agree with your post. It is so hard to work and be a mom. I don’t know how full-time working mom’s do it! It is a mystery to me, but some mom’s are able to juggle everything. I am not one of them. Like you, my family comes first.

  • Jen

    I am sorry you have been so busy. This is a hot topic. I totally agree with your post. It is so hard to work and be a mom. I don’t know how full-time working mom’s do it! It is a mystery to me, but some mom’s are able to juggle everything. I am not one of them. Like you, my family comes first.

Leave a Reply

