Elimination Communication (or IPT)

Once upon a time, there were no disposable diapers. Babies sat around in cloth diapers that soak up their pee. Moms (I suppose!) didn’t want so much to wash (what, with the household, the dishes, the cooking, the laundry, the other children, the husband!, etc.) so that she decided that practicing infant potty training (IPT) with her baby would eliminate the need to use diapers.

Well…actually, I realized that this is still done in the provinces.

Yesterday, I had one of the helpers take K to the bathroom to pee. When she came back (successful), I asked her whether she had done the same with her kids. And she said that she did.

When I read on the net about IPT, I see a lot of sites discussing “Chinese open-crotch pants”. I could never imagine how these looked until I finally saw this picture. Now I finally know how they work.

I realize now that it’s a lot better (and cheaper!) to practice IPT on your baby. Why? You are more akin to your baby’s cues–enhancing your bond with your baby. Also, you tap into your baby’s first window of learning (around 5-6 months of age). It also frees baby from diaper rash!

Yes, EC or IPT is difficult because it takes a lot of time, patience and effort on the care giver’s part…but then, the rewards are great. (P was diaper free by 2 years and 9 months.) I’m hoping Kevin will be diaper free even earlier!

Disposable diapers are modern conveniences that we later pay a dear price for (garbage, chemicals in the diaper, bacteria, etc). I think each parent should consider EC.

About jencc

a constant work-in-progress View all posts by jencc

2 responses to “Elimination Communication (or IPT)

  • Misis14

    Jen, my bebe is going to the loo to poo (;-) since she was 16 months old. However, I having hard time with the pee part. Everytime I put her on the seat, she poos. So at 30 months, she is not yet fully trained. 😦 I wonder if you have some techniques that I can try?
    Thanks!!! πŸ™‚

  • Misis14

    Jen, my bebe is going to the loo to poo (;-) since she was 16 months old. However, I having hard time with the pee part. Everytime I put her on the seat, she poos. So at 30 months, she is not yet fully trained. 😦 I wonder if you have some techniques that I can try?
    Thanks!!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

