Vaccine-nation?

I’ve been hanging out with my rightist friends too much.

With P, I went through a phase when I wanted to stay home, feed him all natural organic stuff (ack, too expensive!), homeschool him, and take him to a homeopathic doctor (instead of a regular pediatrician).

Now, with K, it’s pretty much the same thing, except that I’ve added something else: I am considering not having him vaccinated anymore. I’ve been reading too many websites (National Vaccine Information Center and Think Twice Global Vaccine Institute: Avoid Vaccine Reactions are some examples) telling of the effects of vaccination. And is frightens me to no end.

I never really thought about it, but when presented with the thought of having five or six illnesses/diseases injected in my little one, I shudder at how his insides will react. I worry about the MMR-autism connection (even though so many medical reports say that they’re not connected…but then I’m sure that THAT vaccine will definitely wait. I’m not having it given to Kevin early!). I dread something bad happening to him because of the vaccines.

Please tell me if I’m too informed or I’m worrying just a bit too much (i.e., not busy enough!). On the one hand, I want him protected from diseases such as those, but then thinking about what may happen kills me.

What am I to do??? I’m really losing it… =)

About jencc

a constant work-in-progress View all posts by jencc

7 responses to “Vaccine-nation?

  • steve

    re the organic food, it just represents one perspective. even if you decide to feed kevin with 100% organic food, then might as well wrap him in a bubble. it’s not yet proven that organic food is a panacea to certain diseases. homeopathic stuff, i don’t know if it really works. it’s alternative medicine, like chiropractic medicine (I believe in chiro). haha. I think homeschooling is a real no-no, practically, realistically, and long-term-wise. hahaha. Regarding the vaccine stuff, you’re reading partial websites (those anti-vaccine), thus you’re flooded with such information. Diba the probability is so small that an adverse reaction occurs? We can compute using Bayes’ Theorem (joke).

  • steve

    haha one more thing, the outcomes of feeding him regular food/organic food, vaccinating/not vaccinating, etc. depends also on the person’s genotype. in the end, it all boils down to your decision. You’ll never no what could happen or what you’ll be missing out on if. some rightist/non-rightist ppl are talking with no experience of the other side of the story. so, i suggest you ask around, read more (both sides), and weigh things. haha. don’t accept everything as the truth agad. Be discerning. yan lang muna ang maipapayo ko. haha.

  • mamaella

    Am I one of the rightist friends mwahahahaha

    okay lang yan, as the saying goes better safe than sorry.

    ako i’ve decided no more vaccine, will write about the icky story in my blog

  • steve

    haha one more thing, the outcomes of feeding him regular food/organic food, vaccinating/not vaccinating, etc. depends also on the person’s genotype. in the end, it all boils down to your decision. You’ll never no what could happen or what you’ll be missing out on if. some rightist/non-rightist ppl are talking with no experience of the other side of the story. so, i suggest you ask around, read more (both sides), and weigh things. haha. don’t accept everything as the truth agad. Be discerning. yan lang muna ang maipapayo ko. haha.

  • MrsPartyGirl

    hi jen, ive read all those anti-vaccine stuff, too. pero after weighing everything, i decided to still have my daughter vaccinated. the diseases that the vaccines prevent may be sisiw for us adults, like the flu or measles, but can be fatal for kids. also, some diseases like polio have lifelong crippling effects on children. its comforting din to know that you have limited the number of diseases you and your child are left to combat on your own. sans any medical confirmations, i’d rather not take the chance.

    as for homeschool, personally, i would like my daughter to have interactions with kids her age so i am going for the old-fashioned schooling. sabi nga nila, most homeschooled kids have trouble relating to the real world because sobrang sheltered sila. if youre scared about the negative influences attendant to schooling, the best way siguro is to choose the very very good school, never let up on parental guidance, pray, and keep your fingers crossed, hehe.

  • mamaella

    To each his own is true. I for one believe in a more natural parenting style, given what we’ve done to our environment and our bodies I think it’s time to rethink our ways. If that means thinking twice about vaccines, going to a homeopath, eating organic food versus food laced with hormones, pesticides and preservatives, homeschooling (I was a teacher in Ateneo, La Salle and am friends with a lot of teachers and they agree homeschooling is a wise alternative…a blog on that later)and I can say that with a view from both sides of the story. My dad is kapampangan (I ate Kare-Kare, Inihaw na Baboy, with a heaping serving of fat and salt until I was 21 ), chemist (he would mix chemicals used for spraying dumpsites), my relatives are either lawyers or doctors, and I was a teacher in two of the best schools (or so called best school depends on who you are talking to) in manila.) Basta follow your motherly instincts it always knows what’s best:-)

  • ruth

    i’ve been following such news, too. but it’s always a matter of choosing the lesser of two evils.

Leave a Reply

